CURRICULUM VITAE

Suzanne Niilo-Rämä                                                                   01/01/2020

PROFILE I am highly experienced in creating positive group dynamics and in engaging with individuals to help them achieve their goals. My activities as an entrepreneur have included teaching pottery clubs/workshops (for children & adults), creating and selling my own glass and ceramic wares, as well as arranging and hosting thematic events using a combination of music, storytelling and poetry.
WORK EXPERIENCE 2019 Entrepreneur. Founded ‘A Little North of Helsinki’. I have started to use this company for promotion and sales of my artworks, as well as for hosting events and workshops in my studio.

2001- present:  Entrepreneur. Founder of NiiloVilla Studio. http://www.niilovilla.com Combining English teaching and ceramic and glass teaching. I am using this company as a means to work with children in various organizations/settings including:
2004 – present: Espoo International School Pottery Club. Weekly pottery sessions – afternoon club activity. 24-32 Students each school year, 1st grade to 9th grade. Repeat participants and good feedback. During this time, I have also lead Puppet Clubs in which we created set, puppets and props, then performed for audiences in the school auditorium.
2015 – present: Kindergarten Clayworks. At FinnAm Kindergartens, Helsinki, and Kids Valley, Hyvinkää. This is a multi-disciplinary (reading, singing, communication) 4 hour pottery workshop for small groups of preschoolers focusing on following instructions and fine motor skills. The aim is to build self-esteem though achievement of simple handbuilding steps.
2020 – I am developing 2 weekly children/family programs which encourage vocabulary building and expression through stories, songs, art and games. “American Clay Club” and “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy”.

2005-PRESENT: FINNAM KINDERGARTENS (Töölö). TEACHER’S ASSISTANT. In this time, I have worked full time and part time. Presently, I am on a weekly basis. Over the course of my employment, I have been responsible for my own groups and specializing in both Christmas and Spring Concerts. One of my main duties is Friday Circletime – movement, singing, stories and games. As well as ‘Show and Tell’, a weekly presentation/self-expression activity. USA WORK EXPERIENCE: 1978-1995  During this period I worked full and part time in several child-care centers, churches and municipal recreation offices in Minnesota, USA.  With a wide focus on preschool activities, youth work, the elderly and the mentally handicapped, this brought me in close contact with all members of the local community. Often working as a Recreation Facilitator which included planning personal recreation programs for individual clients.
Education 1996- 2019 Espoo Tyoväenopisto/SEPTARIA, HKI Various courses in Finnish, ceramics, watercolor and other arts. 1990 -1995 Evening Community Education courses in Minnesota, USA Basic Handbuilding and throwing on the wheel.
1981- 1985 UNIVERSITY OF MN, Various LOCATIONS Minnesota, USA Various coursework focused on completing General Requirements, Elementary Education, Children’s Literature, Linguistics and Recreational Studies. 100 credit hours (approximately)
1979- 1980 Golden Valley Lutheran College, Golden Valley MN USA Associate Degree in Liberal Arts in Recreational Leadership Program planning for group activities from brainstorming to implementation. 188 credit hours
LANGUAGE ENGLISH: NATIVE SPEAKER; MINNESOTA, USA
FINNISH: Arrived in Finland in 1995.  Finnish Level A2 – plus 20 years of life experience living and working within the Finnish culture. Currently enrolled in both a Hyvinkää Opisto and an Online course to improve my skills.
INTERESTS MUSIC
Lead vocalist of a small American Folk band named “A Little North Band” which I created to support my recreational art events. Currently producing “Moon Songs” a one hour song and storytelling event to be performed locally in various venues.  As an off shoot “Suzanne the American” is a musical activity hosted in a variety of venues (for example English classes) encouraging conversational English through music and word play for all ages.
MOUNTAIN BIKING AND T@B CARAVAN My other hobbies include weekends in the caravan with my husband, riding our mountain bikes in the woods, and spending time with family and friends.
References REFERENCES ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST